Another IM Virus?

Today I got a PM from a friend on my Yahoo! Messenger buddy list with a link to an image. Since it was only an image and that too from a friend, I clicked the link and was taken to an error page. This was the PM -

Do you realize who is in this image: http://thecoolpics.net/who.jpg . Just think for a moment and tell me soon

About half an hour later I got another PM from him saying -

hey. i m in a cyber cafe. this machine is loaded wid viruses. so a bad picture has been sent to every1 on my frenz list! my due apologies.

This is the second IM Virus I came across this month :(

Two hours later I got many more of these PMs from different friends. These were some of those PMs -

Images shot in Iraq _ The war will never end http://thecoolpics.net/Iraqwar.jpg

My pics http://thecoolpics.net/mypics.jpg

Screenshot of new windows version _ Windows Vista http://thecoolpics.net/vista.jpg so cool :D

who is beside you in this pic http://thecoolpics.net/friendpic1.jpg so good-looking

never click into the links like something in this image http://thecoolpics.net/dontclick.jpg :-S !!!

Did you notice that all these PMs have a common URL – http://thecoolpics.net ? I have not got these PMs before, so I am guessing that this is a new IM virus.

Actually I am not sure if this is a virus because it has the extension jpg. Anyways don’t click the link if you get a similar PM.

Is this a virus? Have you got similar PMs?

Read posts on your favorite topic


Blogging | Make Money Online | WordPress | SEO | Internet

Software | Google | Tutorials | Tweaks | Others

Get tips on Blogging and Making Money Online via Email for FREE

Enter your email address:

Must be valid. No spam from me, promise. Or read via RSS.


Copyright ©2005-2011 JohnTP, All rights reserved.