Watch out for Fake Comments in my name!

Someone who wants to defame me has been commenting on other blogs using my name and insulting the blog owners.

For your info, I rarely comment on other blogs. I know who is after all this, but I won’t mention his name until I get solid proof.

The first blog I found the fake comment on was Robert Scoble’s blog.

The comments are on this and this post.

The fake comments on scobleizer looks like this

Please visit my blog at http://johntp.com for TechNews, Reviews and other Great stuff

Comment by JohnTP — October 3, 2006 @ 4:31 pm

This is nonsense. I never tried to promote my blogs like this and will never do.

I contacted Robert and let him know about the fake comments on his blog.

Today I noticed another fake comment on Earningblog.com

JohnTP Says:
October 9th, 2006 at 9:19 pm

A three month old rookie blogger is teaching us how to blog.

Hahah Funny

Unlike the first two fake comments, this is an insulting comment. I felt bad when I read the comment itself.

Well, it was not me! I would never purposely insult anyone unless they start insulting me. This fraud is trying to defame me.

Also, the ‘fake commenter’ has been spamming mine and a few other blogs including LiewCF.com.

Looks like I am not the only guy this fraud is targetting. So watch out!

From today onwards if you see any promotional, insulting or any such type comments with my name on other blogs you can make sure it was by someone else. Also do check the IP address if the fake comment was made on your blog.

My IP address looks something like this: 59.xx.xx.xxx

It always starts with a 59 as I am using BSNL Dataone (Indian broadband service) . If the fake commenter is who I think it is, his IP will also mostly start with a 59 as he uses BSNL Dataone too.

If you find any comments with my name on other blogs please do let me know.

banner

Search JohnTP.com or view a random post

To receive this blogs articles for FREE on your email inbox, just enter your email address below and click 'Go':

Enter your email address: or get updates via RSS.

Find out what I am doing currently by following me on Twitter.

16 responses so far,

  1. 1

    CypherHackz

    October 11, 2006 at 9:50 am

    you know that person? is that the guy that you mentioned to me earlier?

  2. 2

    JohnTP

    October 11, 2006 at 10:05 am

    Well I can’t say that without enough proof. Let’s wait and see what he does next. I am very sure he is reading this post and it’s comments.

  3. 3

    Yvonne

    October 11, 2006 at 11:05 am

    That sucks if you know the guy John – some people have way too much time on their hands. In the Internet sense anyway … I’ll keep an eye out ;)

  4. 4

    siong1987

    October 11, 2006 at 11:08 am

    No… The comment is from 204.15.9.3 from my blog – http://www.earningblog.com.

  5. 5

    JohnTP

    October 11, 2006 at 12:31 pm

    hmm..I wonder if he is hiding his real IP?

  6. 6

    Peter

    October 11, 2006 at 1:07 pm

    Probably not, but is his IP static ? Check that out, i don’t think he is hiding…. probably a 10 years old child with too much free time.

  7. 7

    JohnTP

    October 11, 2006 at 1:44 pm

    I did a Whois Lookup of the IP Siong gave me. This is what I got:

    IP Location: United States – New York – New York – Febox Llc

  8. 8

    Shivaranjan

    October 11, 2006 at 4:04 pm

    John, it’s very sad to know that somebody is deliberately defaming you. I hope that guy stops doing this here after. If I come across any such comments in the future I will let you know.

  9. 9

    JohnTP

    October 11, 2006 at 4:44 pm

    If I come across any such comments in the future I will let you know.

    Thank you Shiva. Like Peter, I too doubt the ‘fake commenter’ is a kid of age 10-17 or something.

  10. 10

    Ashok

    October 11, 2006 at 9:43 pm

    May be someone is using a proxy to comment. It is not too difficult to use proxy.

  11. 11

    Abhinav

    October 11, 2006 at 11:45 pm

    After knowing you since for months now.
    Its clear that you truly are a professional and nice person by heart. :)

    I think as siong1987 tracked the IP.
    You should also ask LiewCF and other blogger where the comments were posted.

    Just check the series of IP and try guessing who can it be.

    It will be a next mission for you to find that stupid b*****d :)

    Best of luck

  12. 12

    JohnTP

    October 12, 2006 at 5:22 am

    We were spammed from here: thila.ropage.com

    And that page belongs to Thilak

    This account has now been suspended. Maybe his host found what he was doing.

  13. 13

    Carol

    October 14, 2006 at 3:00 pm

    Man,that’s one nasty thing to do.
    Is Thilak who did that or is something else going on?

  14. 14

    JohnTP

    October 14, 2006 at 6:01 pm

    Thilak is the one who spammed us. About the ‘fake commenting’ I am not sure as the IP does not match with his or could he be hiding his IP with some software?

    For a few days now someone is even trying to exploit a loophole in one of the WordPress Plugins. My host says that whoever it is, they were unsuccessful.

  15. 15

    mj1226

    October 16, 2006 at 2:22 pm

    The lesser that person will know that you’re on to him/her the better your chances on finding out who the low-life is. You want the person to be complacent not carefull. Right? Go low-profile about this and sooner or later you’ll get’em.
    Those people are either envious or selfcentered or egotistical, or we’ll never know they are just like that. Goodluck on the hunting john.
    Kudos again to you for putting all of this up.

  16. 16

    Bong

    October 21, 2006 at 5:25 pm

    This is really sick. Someone wasting his time leg-pulling others. I never thought about this, if someone starts commenting using my name it will be very very wrong.



Copyright ©2005-2010 JohnTP, All rights reserved.